World Association of Basketball Coaches (WABC)


What is WABC?

The aim of the World Association of Basketball Coaches (WABC) is to improve the standard of the game through improving the standard of those teaching the game.

Therefore, the core activities of the WABC is dedicated to the basketball coaches’ development throughout the world which includes, among other activities, the organization of multiple coaching clinics worldwide as well as the production of coaching resources in several languages.

In addition, the WABC is engaged in creating and developing a worldwide basketball coaches’ community, which is already composed by thousands of high level coaches from all countries around the world, with the purpose of creating a platform supporting the basketball coaches’ development through the exchange of knowledge.

The WABC is also highly active in providing input and advice regarding playing and coaching standards and trends to the FIBA Technical Commission, thanks to the WABC Advisory Committee which is composed by current or former National or Head Coaches who have had exposure to international coaching or worked with players who have competed in international competition.

All activities of the WABC are endorsed by and organized through FIBA (International Basketball Federation), the world governing organization. 

WABC Executive Committee members (2014-2019)

Mr Patrick Hunt Australia WABC President
Dr Mohamed Habib Cherif Tunisia Africa Representative
Mr Victor Ojeda Puerto Rico Americas Representative
Dr Koon Teck Koh Singapore Asia Representative
Mr Michael Schwarz Germany Europe Representative
Mr Michael Haynes Australia Oceania Representative
Mr Juan Mª Gavaldá Spain EUABC Representative
Mr Brooks Meek USA NBA Representative

WABC Advisory Committee members (2014-2019)

Mr Patrick Hunt (WABC President)  Australia
Mr Sergio Hernandez  Argentina
 Mr Julio Lamas  Argentina
 Mr Ruben Magnano  Argentina 
 Mr Lindsay Gaze  Australia
 Ms Jan Stirling   Australia
 Mr Vincent Collet  France
 Mr Jean-Pierre De Vincenzi  France
 Mr Pierre Vincent  France
 Mr Dirk Bauermann  Germany
Mr Panagiotis Giannakis  Greece
Mr Simone Pianigiani  Italy
Mr Sergio Scariolo  Italy
Mr Jonas Kazlauskas  Lithuania
Mr Mario Palma  Portugal
Mr Dusan Ivkovic  Serbia
Mr Zeljko Obradovic  Serbia
Mr Svetislav Pesic  Serbia
Mr Aito Garcia Reneses  Spain
Mr Geno Auriemma  USA
Ms Anne Donovan  USA
Mr Mike Krzyzewski  USA
Mr Donald Showalter  USA
Ms Tara Van Der Veer  USA