loading...Please wait while content is loading.

FIBA Qualification process to the 2008 Olympic Basketball Tournament

Stage 1: Qualification through FIBA Zone Championships
Only teams whose national federations are members of FIBA and who's National Olympic Committees are affiliated to the International Olympic Committee are entitled to participate in the Olympic Tournaments for Men and Women.


Host country China
2006 FIBA World Champion Australia
African Champion Mali
Americas Champion USA
Asian Champion Korea
European Champion Russia
Oceanian Vice-Champion New Zealand
FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament 5
Total: 12


Stage 2: Qualification through the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament for Women
The Central Board decided that the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament for Women will take place in Madrid, Spain, in the 10.500-seat Telefónica Arena, from 9th to 15th June 2008.

The following seven teams have already booked their tickets for the Olympic Basketball Tournament for Women that will take place in Beijing (China), from 9th to 23rd August 2008: China (host), Australia (World Champion), Mali (African Champion), USA (Champion of the Americas), Korea (Asian Champion), Russia (European Champion) and New Zealand (Oceanian runner-up).

The remaining five women's berths for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games will be decided in this 12-team FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament for Women with the participation of Angola, Argentina, Belarus, Brazil, Chinese Taipei, Cuba, Czech Republic, Fiji, Japan, Latvia, Senegal and Spain.

1. Composition of groups:

The draw for the above tournament was held in Madrid, Spain on 14th January 2008. The result of the draw was as follows:

Group A: Japan, Latvia, Senegal
Group B: Angola, Argentina, Czech Republic
Group C: Brazil, Fiji, Spain
Group D: Belarus, Chinese Taipei, Cuba

2. System of competition

The tournament will be played as follows:

Preliminary Round

9th June 2008

Game A1: Latvia vs. Senegal
Game B1: Czech Republic vs. Argentina
Game C1: Spain vs. Fiji
Game D1: Chinese Taipei vs. Cuba

10th June 2008

Game A2: Senegal vs. Japan
Game B2: Argentina vs. Angola
Game C2: Fiji vs. Brazil
Game D2: Cuba vs. Belarus

11th June 2008

Game A3: Japan vs. Latvia
Game B3: Angola vs. Czech Republic
Game C3: Brazil vs. Spain
Game D3: Belarus vs. Chinese Taipei

The two (2) best placed teams from each group will qualify for the Quarter-Finals.
The teams placed third in each group are eliminated and may return home.

12th June 2008 Day Off


13th June 2008

Game 13: A1 vs. B2
Game 14: B1 vs. A2
Game 15: C1 vs. D2
Game 16: D1 vs. C2

The four (4) winners will qualify for the Olympic Games and may return home. The four (4) losers will play in the Semi-Finals.


14th June 2008

Game 17: Loser 13 vs. Loser 15
Game 18: Loser 14 vs. Loser 16


15th June 2008

Game 19: Winner 17 vs. Winner 18
The winner will qualify for the Olympic Games.


  Copyright 2007 FIBA All rights reserved. No portion of FIBA.com may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing fiba.com pages, you agree to abide by FIBA Copyright and legal mentions   Contact us | Advanced search | RSS