loading...Please wait while content is loading.


The City of the Rivers, Valdivia, Chile, will be hosting the most important event of women basketball in our Hemisphere. This event will qualify the team which will be representing our basketball in Beijing 2008 Olympic Games.

In this competition will be participation eight (8) teams representing eight different countries from the three (3) Zones in which our Hemisphere basketball is divided:

  • North America Zone
  • Central America and the Caribbean Zone
  • South America Zone

Each team qualified for this Championship after facing the best teams of their respective Zones (excluding the USA and Canada, both of whom automatically qualifies as they are the sole representatives of the North America Zone).

In this Championship will be active the winner of the bronze medal in the past FIBA World Women Championship, celebrated in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Also, the #1 team in FIBA's World ranking will be active. As an important fact, five (5) from the eight (8) participating teams are listed between the fifteen (15) best teams in the World.

This Championship will be taking place from September 25th to the 29th of 2007, in the Antonio Azurmendi Coliseum, in Valdivia, Chile. 

These are the participating teams on this edition of the FIBA Americas Women Championship 2007:

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Cuba
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • USA

The Game System will be based upon the present FIBA's Official Game Rules, and it will be played on two (2) rounds. In case there is a tie in the first round, the respective system provided by FIBA will be utilized also. The teams will be divided in two (2) groups of four (4) teams each.

The team that wins the Championship will automatically qualify to Beijing 2008. Those teams finishing in the second, third and fourth place will have another chance to qualify for the Olympic Games in the World Pre-Olympic that will be taking place during June 2008.