Latest news article
loading...Please wait while content is loading.
Latest news article
2007 FIBA Americas draw
2007 FIBA Americas championship for woemn draw, Valdivia, Chile
25/02/2007FIBA Americas - FIBA Americas Champ. for Women's draw

VALDIVIA (FIBA Americas Championship for Women) - Reigning champions Cuba have been drawn against USA, Canada and Jamaica in the group stages of September's FIBA Americas Championship for Women in Valdivia.

The tournament, which takes place between September 25-29, sees host nation Chile in Group A alongside Brazil, Argentina and Mexico, with the top two teams from each group qualifying for the semi-finals.

The tournament winners will earn a place in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.

1. Composition of groups:

Group A: Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Chile
Group B: USA, Cuba, Canada, Jamaica
2. Preliminary Round:

25th September 2007:
Group A:
Game A1: BRA vs. ARG
Game A2: CHI  vs. MEX 
Group B:
Game B1: USA vs. CUB 
Game B2: CAN vs. JAM
26th September 2007:
Group A:
Game A3: BRA vs. CHI
Game A4: ARG vs. MEX
Group B:
Game B3: USA vs. JAM
Game B4: CUB vs. CAN 
27th September 2007:
Group A:
Game A5: BRA vs. MEX
Game A6: ARG vs. CHI 
Group B:
Game B5: USA vs. CAN 
Game B6: CUB vs. JAM
Second phase

The 2 best-placed teams in each group will play for 1st to 4th places; the teams placed 3rd and 4th in each group will play for 5th to 8th places.
Important note: The order of the games for further rounds is subject to change.
3. Semi-Finals:

28th September 2007:
Game 13: A3 vs. B4
Game 14: B3 vs. A4
Game 15: B1 vs. A2
Game 16: A1 vs. B2
4. Finals:
29th September 2007:
Game 17: Loser 13 vs. Loser 14 (7 – 8)
Game 18: Winner 13 vs. Winner 14 (5 – 6)
Game 19: Loser 15 vs. Loser 16 (3 – 4)
Game 20: Winner 15 vs. Winner 16 (1 – 2)
More details about FIBA Americas Championship for Women 2007  can be found in

Brendan McLoughlin

Related Articles