loading...Please wait while content is loading.
FIBA Americas Championship 2007

The United States will be hosting the most important event in our Hemisphere's basketball. This event will decide the teams that will be representing our basketball at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China.

Ten teams from ten different countries will be representing the three Zones in which is divided the basketball in the Americas

  • North America
  • Center America and the Caribbean
  • South America
Each squad (with the exception of the USA and Canada, both of whom qualifies automatically as they are North Americas' sole representatives) qualifies for this tournament after facing the best of its respective Zone.

The fact that these squads are within the Top-40 teams in the World, with two of them at the 1st and 2nd positions of the World ranking, surely makes this FIBA Americas Men Championship a one of a kind opportunity for the fans to witness interesting moments, surprises and, above all, good basketball.

This Championship will be taking place from August 22 until September 2, 2007, in the UNLV's Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas, Nevada.

These are the teams which will be present on this edition of the FIBA Americas Men Championship 2007:

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Puerto Rico
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • US Virgin Islands
This year, as in the past, everyone wants to dethrone the team that arrived in third place at the FIBA World Championship in Japan: United States and its N.B.A players. However, they are not alone anymore, with Argentina as the second giant to face. Both squads will surely face great competition from other teams craving the Hemisphere's attention and respect.  

The classification process for this Championship goes as follows: with the participation of (10) teams, and following the present FIBA's Official Game Rules, the Championship is played in three (3) rounds. If there is a tie for the same position at the end of the first and second rounds, the respective FIBA system will be utilized also. The squads are divided in two (2) groups of five (5) teams each.

The teams in the first and second position at the end of the Championship will automatically qualify to the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games. The teams that arrive in the third, fourth and fifth position will have another opportunity to qualify to Beijing 2008 in the World Pre-Olympic which will be celebrated a month before Beijing 2008.