loading...Please wait while content is loading.


The abbreviation 'FIBA' derives from the French 'Fédération Internationale de Basketball Amateur'. The Word 'Amateur' was dropped in 1986 after the distinction between Amateurs and Professionals was eliminated. The 'A' in FIBA was however left. This was for reasons of tradition and also because of the 'BA' at the beginning of our sport, BASKETBALL! 

 Who we are:
FIBA, the world governing body for basketball, is an independent association formed by 212 National federations of basketball throughout the world.
FIBA is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
FIBA is a non-profit making organization and, in principle, does not pursue any objective of economic character for its own gains.
The headquarters of FIBA are established in Geneva, Switzerland. Click here to view our Zone Commissions.

 What we do:
FIBA establishes the Official Basketball Rules, the specifications for equipment and facilities, and all internal executive regulations that must be applied to all international and Olympic competitions, for which FIBA also establishes the system of competition.
FIBA controls and governs the appointment of international referees.
FIBA regulates the transfer of players from one country to another.
FIBA controls and governs all international competitions.

 Key numbers:
A global study, conducted by Roper Starch Worldwide in April '97 based on 35,000 interviews, showed that 11% of the world plays basketball.
Basketball has even replaced football as the most popular sport in areas like Asia and Australia and is on the way to surpassing football worldwide.
Over 450 million people play basketball on competition and grassroots level in 1998, but the number of licensed players has also risen drastically since 1992.

For more information, please visit our website


The FIBA World Championship is played every 4 years and determines the best basketball nation of the world. The first World Championship was played in 1950 in Argentina and since then, has been organised 14 times.

Yugoslavia is leading the role of honor with 5 gold medals followed by the Soviet Union and USA with 3 gold medals each. The 2002 FIBA World Championship was played in Indianapolis, USA, where Yugoslavia won gold, Argentina silver and Germany bronze.

The 2006 edition will be played in Japan from 19th August until 3rd September in five different cities.

FIBA has increased the number of teams playing at the FIBA World Championship from 16 to 24 teams because of the increased level of basketball around the world and the increasing number of competitive teams at the highest level.

The following 24 teams will play:
Angola, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Lithuania, New Zealand, Nigeria, Panama, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Senegal, Serbia & Montenegro, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, Venezuela, USA

The teams will play against each other in the preliminary phase in four groups of 6 teams. The 4 top teams from each group will then qualify directly for the Eighth-Finals, Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Finals. All the games from the Eighth-Finals to the Finals will be played on a one-game elimination basis in the city of Saitama.

The 2006 FIBA World Champion will qualify automatically for the 2008 Olympic Basketball Tournament for Men in Beijing.