loading...Please wait while content is loading.
FIBA - Groups set for U17 Women following Amsterdam draw

AMSTERDAM (2012 FIBA U17 World Championship for Women) - The draw for the 2012 FIBA U17 World Championship for Women took place in Amsterdam, Netherlands, on Friday.

The 12 teams were drawn into the two groups as follows.

Group A: Belgium, Canada, Italy, Korea, Mali, USA  
Group B: Australia, Brazil, Japan, Netherlands, Spain, Turkey

During the first round, teams will play the five other countries in their respective groups in a standard round-robin format, with the top four teams progressing to the knockout round (Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Finals).

The tournament will be held in Amsterdam from 17 to 26 August 2012.

During the inaugural edition, held in the French cities of Toulouse and Rodez, the USA captured gold, defeating France in the Final, while China beat Belgium to secure bronze.