Filter news by:
loading...Please wait while content is loading.
Brisa SILVA (MEX) 2011 FIBA Americas Championship for Women (Colombia) Jamaica v Mexico
MEX – Qualifying event for Turkey awarded to Xalapa

VERACRUZ (FIBA Americas Championship for Women) – The battles in the Americas for places in the 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women will be waged in Mexico.

The FIBA Americas Championship for Women is to be held in Xalapa, Veracruz (21-28 September).

"We are very happy to announce that Xalapa, Veracruz, is to host our most important women's championship," FIBA Americas president Horacio Muratore said.

"With the Pan American Games of 2011, Mexico showed its passion for women's basketball, in which their team had an excellent performance by winning silver as hosts and we know that a competition as big as the FIBA Americas Championship with three places for the World Championship up for grabs will be a great event for lovers of this sport."

The United States, by virtue of capturing the gold medal at the Olympics, and hosts Turkey, are the two sides that already have places in the 16-team World Championship field.

Brazil captured the FIBA Americas Championship for Women gold medal in 2011 in Neiva, Colombia.

The Brazilians then travelled to the Pan American Games in Mexico and lost in the Semi-Finals to Puerto Rico.

The Puerto Ricans defeated Mexico in the title game.

Canada could be title contenders in Xalapa.

After finishing third in Neiva, they travelled to the 2012 FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament for Women in Ankara, Turkey, and clinched one of five spots for the London Games.

Then at the Olympics, the Canadians made it to the Quarter-Finals before falling to the United States.


Comments | Print
Related Articles